Can You Unsend a Snap?

March 15, 2024
David Sunnyside

Unlike Instagram or Facebook, Snapchat prioritizes its users’ privacy and allows videos and pictures to disappear after 24 hours. This is a great feature but it doesn’t stop people from accidentally sending iffy messages to their friends. In this article, we’ll answer the question, “Can you unsend a snap?”

Snapchat’s latest update includes a new way for users to retract certain types of chat messages from their friends. To zap a message, simply long-press on the snap (text, sticker or photo) to delete it. Then, if you’re quick enough, the other person won’t even have the chance to open it.

The Snapchat team notes that the deletion process won’t work if the other user has a weak WiFi connection or an older version of the app. It also doesn’t guarantee that your friend won’t take a screenshot of the deleted message.

It’s worth noting that the delete option only works for Snaps that are sent to Chat. It doesn’t apply to Story replies, and the person that created the Story can save it to their Memories at any time. The Snapchat team is working on a similar feature for the company’s popular video recording sunglasses, known as Spectacles. It’s called Clear Chats, and it will allow you to delete chats from your conversations before your mates see them. The feature will be available to everyone in the next few weeks. You can learn more about it by visiting the official website.

David Sunnyside
Co-founder of Urban Splatter • Digital Marketer • Engineer • Meditator
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram