Can You Unsend a Snapchat?

March 2, 2024
David Sunnyside

Snapchat is one of the most popular social media apps among tweens and teens. It is a messaging app that is designed to be ephemeral. Snapchat users have a username and a unique code to connect with other users on the app. They also use the app to take photos and videos that will disappear after a short period of time. Snapchat has a variety of features that allow users to edit and personalize their photos/videos, add filters, lenses, and overlays. They can also send their Snaps to friends/groups or post them to their stories.

Can you unsend a snapchat?

Snapchat recently released an update to its app that allows users to unsend snaps sent in individual or group chats. However, the unsend feature only works if the snap has not been opened. Previously, some users used a workaround by deleting their profile, thereby undeleting any messages that were sent in group or individual conversations. However, this method no longer works.

Using the Clear Chats feature allows the user to delete Snaps that were saved to Chat from their Memories section, or content they had previously sent. This function only applies to messages in group or one-on-one chats, and does not apply to texts, stickers, or audio or pictures and video clips that have been taken though the Snapchat app.

Snapchat notes that it may not always be able to successfully delete the message in all cases, particularly when a friend has a poor internet connection or is using an older version of the Snapchat app. It is also important to note that other chat members will see that you removed a Snap from the conversation, which could prompt them to ask questions.

David Sunnyside
Co-founder of Urban Splatter • Digital Marketer • Engineer • Meditator
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram