Does Real Notify Screenshots?

December 13, 2023
David Sunnyside

BeReal is the new social media app that’s getting a lot of attention thanks to its 2-minute posting windows and lack of filters and effects. But how does it protect users’ privacy? And does bereal notify screenshots?

While most of the time, BeReal does not notify users who screen record or take a screenshot of their posts, it does have a way of telling how many people screenshot the post. The notification is displayed next to the number of reactions and/or screenshots a user’s post received when they tap on it. This feature is available to all BeReal users and can’t be turned off.

The reason for this feature is that BeReal wants its content creators to be aware that their photos and information can easily get replicated and distributed in ways they don’t expect. By letting them know if someone took a screenshot, it can deter users from taking uninformed risks with their personal photos.

If you want to avoid revealing yourself as someone who takes a screenshot of BeReal posts, it’s recommended that you use a 3rd party screen recording app instead of the default one on your phone (which can interact with BeReal and potentially share data that you’re not aware of). You can also try using a different phone with the BeReal app open in order to see if that works better for you.

Another option is to use a screenshot capture tool like AnyMP4 Screen Recorder, which has a convenient Snapshot button that allows you to capture BeReal content without being notified by the other user. This tool also has a record and replay button, which makes it easy to save and edit the screenshots you’ve taken.

David Sunnyside
Co-founder of Urban Splatter • Digital Marketer • Engineer • Meditator
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram