How to Delete Messages on GroupMe

November 21, 2023
David Sunnyside

If you want to delete messages on groupme, there are a few things you should know. First, the app doesn't allow you to delete messages for everyone after they are sent, but you can hide them. However, this only hides the message on your device and others can still see it in the chat.

You can also clear your chat history on groupme. This will remove all the messages and photos from your conversations, but it won't delete them from your device or from recipients' devices. You'll need to manually delete the messages on your own device if you want them completely gone.

How to Delete a Message on GroupMe

To delete a message on groupme, open the app and navigate to the conversation you wish to delete. Tap and hold on the message until a menu appears. Select "Delete Message" from the options and confirm your selection.

The same process can be used on the website version of the app. However, you cannot delete messages from individual conversations on the desktop version of groupme because it is designed to maintain an archival record of all discussions and messages for compliance purposes.

It is also possible to delete your entire account on groupme, but this will permanently erase all the messages you have ever sent or received in groups. It is also important to note that when you delete your account, you will not be notified to the other members of any groups you are a member of.

David Sunnyside
Co-founder of Urban Splatter • Digital Marketer • Engineer • Meditator
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram