How to Delete Text Messages on iPhone For Both Sides

December 2, 2023
David Sunnyside

Whether it's an embarrassing mistake or simply private information, the need to delete text messages on iphone for both sides is a common one. Unfortunately, the process can be a bit more complicated than just deleting the message on your end. When you delete a message on your iPhone, the recipient still has access to it on their device until they remove it themselves or have iCloud backups that include it.

Luckily, there are a few ways that you can delete texts on iphone for both sides to help maintain your digital privacy and peace of mind. The most straightforward way is to ask the other party to delete the message from their iPhone or other Apple devices. This method requires a certain level of trust and understanding between both parties and will only work if the message is actually an iMessage and not a regular SMS text. Moreover, the recipient's device must be updated to iOS 16 or later and associated with an Apple ID that has "Text Message Forwarding" turned on.

Another option is to use the Messages app to delete a specific conversation on your iPhone. This will remove the entire thread of messages on your phone and will also delete it from iCloud (if you have enabled it). The final option is to utilize iMessage settings to automatically erase messages after 30 days or 1 year (depending on your choice) for even more control over your data.

David Sunnyside
Co-founder of Urban Splatter • Digital Marketer • Engineer • Meditator
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram