How to Forget a Wi-Fi Network on Mac

January 28, 2024
David Sunnyside

Macs are great at remembering the WiFi networks they've connected to in the past. This is convenient, but it can also be dangerous. It can lead to a surfeit of connected networks that are slow, insecure, or even public (and therefore easy for hackers to exploit). Forgetting these network connections can improve your security and prevent your Mac from accidentally connecting to them again.

The easiest way to forget a wifi network on mac is through the System Preferences app. You can select the Wi-Fi icon in the menu bar, click the Advanced button, and then select a network that you want to forget. You can do this for a single network or multiple networks at the same time. Then, click the minus sign to forget the network.

Alternatively, you can use Terminal to forget a wifi network on mac. This method requires a little more technical know-how, but it can be useful if you can't do it through the System Preferences app for whatever reason. You can do this by typing the following command into Terminal:

To forget a wifi network on mac, you'll need to remove it from your list of preferred networks. To do this, click the Wi-Fi icon in the menu bar, then scroll through Preferred Networks to find the network you want to forget. Once you've found it, click the minus sign to forget the networking. If you want to forget a network but don't want to remove it from your list of preferred networks, you can turn off Auto-Join for that network.

David Sunnyside
Co-founder of Urban Splatter • Digital Marketer • Engineer • Meditator
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram