How to Forget a Wi-Fi Network on Mac

November 23, 2023
David Sunnyside

Over time, you'll likely connect to a lot of Wi-Fi networks. As a convenience, MacOS will remember these networks and automatically connect to them when in range again. This is useful, but sometimes connecting to an old network can cause issues, such as an expired password, or you may just want to declutter your list of networks.

In this article, we'll show you how to forget a wifi network on mac in a few simple steps. Whether you're having trouble connecting to a particular network or just want to tidy up your network list, this is an easy task that takes only minutes.

Forgetting a network will remove it from your list of preferred networks and prevent your Mac from automatically joining it again. If you still wish to connect to the network, you can reconnect it manually by selecting it from the list of available networks and entering the username and password.

To use the built-in Mac tool to forget a network, open System Preferences and click on "Network." Select the option to manage known networks. Click on the information (i) icon to the right of the network you want to forget, and then click the minus button.

Another way to forget a network on your Mac is by using Terminal. To launch Terminal, click on the Utilities folder in the Applications section of the Dock or search for it using Spotlight. Type in the following command:

David Sunnyside
Co-founder of Urban Splatter • Digital Marketer • Engineer • Meditator
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram