How to Forget a WiFi Network on Mac

March 28, 2024
David Sunnyside

As you use your Mac, it connects to various private and public WiFi networks. It’s designed to remember these networks so that when it encounters the same network again, you can automatically connect to it without having to select it and enter a password. This feature can be a real time saver, but it can also become irritating as networks pile up over time.

In this article, we will show you how to forget a wifi network on mac and clear up the list of connections that your computer keeps. We’ll also walk you through how to manage your network connection settings, optimize performance, and troubleshoot common problems. By the end of this article, you’ll be a networking pro!

To remove an unwanted network from your Preferred Networks list, access your System Preferences and select 'Network'. The list of networks that your Mac has connected to appears here, known as your preferred networks. To remove a network, select the 'Forget Network' option and click 'OK'.

Once a network is forgotten, it will no longer appear in your preferred networks list and you will no longer be automatically connected to the network when it's within range. However, you will still be able to manually connect to the network by selecting it and entering your password.

There are a few other ways you can manage your network connections, including adjusting the order of preference in Network Preferences and changing your auto-join settings. You can also check out other articles in this series, including How to Improve Your Wi-Fi Speed, How to Delete Unwanted Networks, and How to Optimize Your Router.

David Sunnyside
Co-founder of Urban Splatter • Digital Marketer • Engineer • Meditator
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram