How to Turn Off Profile Views on TikTok

March 31, 2024
David Sunnyside

There are times where it may be fun or helpful to snoop through someone’s online profile. On Instagram, Twitter, or even Facebook, this activity usually goes unnoticed. However, on TikTok, it is possible that a creator will be able to see your profile views history and they will be notified whenever you visit their profile. This can be a bit of a nuisance for some users, especially those who like to maintain privacy on the platform.

Thankfully, TikTok has an easy way to disable profile view history so that you can anonymously browse profiles without the creator knowing that you have done so. You can access this feature by tapping on the three-line icon in the top-right corner of your TikTok app and selecting ’Settings and privacy’. Once you have this option enabled, your profile will show a trace button, and the creators will not be able to see how many times you have visited their profile.

Some people may find this to be helpful, as it can alleviate some of the social pressure associated with being visible on the platform. It can also help you to feel more comfortable when browsing and watching content from creators that you don’t know. Moreover, it can help you to avoid the risk of unwanted interactions with accounts that aren’t particularly credible or trustworthy. Disabling this feature also resets your previous profile view history after 30 days. So, if you decide to switch it back on, your prior profile view history will be hidden again.

David Sunnyside
Co-founder of Urban Splatter • Digital Marketer • Engineer • Meditator
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram