How to Unsync Google Photos

March 23, 2024
David Sunnyside

Google Photos is a powerful photo/video-sharing and storage service for Android phones, iPhones, laptops, desktop computers, and even tablets. The service's wizardry can be attributed to its AI-assisted features, which recognize various visual elements in photos and videos, grouping them together based on dates, people (including pets), geographical landmarks, and subject matter such as flowers and sky.

One of the most useful aspects of Google Photos is that it can automatically backup files on all devices connected to the same Wi-Fi network. Depending on the user's settings, the service will also backup videos, documents, and other data. Files and videos backed up by the service are stored in Google's cloud storage service and are accessible from any device connected to the same Wi-Fi network, making it easy for users to access their files whenever they want, wherever they are.

However, sometimes, users may not want to keep their local photos and videos backed up by Google Photos. Especially if they're on a tight data plan, or their phone is running low on storage space. In such cases, it's important to know how to unsync google photos.

To do this, launch the Google Photos app on your device and tap your profile picture in the top-right corner of the screen to open your account settings. From here, locate the "Backup and sync" option and seamlessly switch the toggle to the 'off' position. This will effectively halt the syncing of your local photos and videos to Google Photos' cloud storage.

David Sunnyside
Co-founder of Urban Splatter • Digital Marketer • Engineer • Meditator
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram